Sveta Nedelja Church

ACL 2013: Call for System Demonstrations
August 4 - 9, 2013
Sofia, Bulgaria

Important Dates

    • April 8, 2013:    Paper submissions due (submission deadline is 11:59pm PST)
    • May 15, 2013:      Notification of acceptance
    • May 29, 2013:      Camera-ready copy due
    • August 4-9, 2013: ACL 2013

Invitation for Submissions

The ACL 2013 System Demonstration Program Committee invites proposals for the Demonstrations Program. We encourage both the submission of early research prototypes and interesting mature systems. PLEASE NOTE: Commercial sales and marketing activities are not appropriate in the Demonstrations Program and should be arranged as part of the Exhibit Program.  Areas of interest include all topics related to theoretical and applied computational linguistics, such as (but not limited to) the topics listed for the conference paper submission:

The systems may be of the following kinds:
    • Natural Language Processing systems or system components
    • Application systems using language technology components
    • Software tools for computational linguistics research
    • Software for demonstration or evaluation
    • Development tools

We would like to strongly encourage demonstrations of industrial systems as long as they prove technologically innovative given the current state of the art of theory and applied research in computational linguistics. Each demo will be complemented by a poster at the conference and will be allocated 6 pages in the conference proceedings.

Developers should outline the design of their system and provide sufficient details to allow the evaluation of its validity, quality, and relevance to computational linguistics. Pointers to web sites running a demo preview will also be helpful.

Demo submissions should also clearly indicate if any computer equipment is expected to be provided by the local organizer. If so, please specify desired hardware platform, hard disk and memory capacity, operating system and other software needed in order to run the demo.

Submission Information

Submissions may consist of 6 pages (including references) and should follow the guidelines for authors of the main conference track, which is available on the conference website. All submissions must conform to the official ACL 2013 style guidelines announced on the conference website.

Reviewing of papers will be double-blind. Therefore, the paper must not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...", must be avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith (1991) previously showed ...". Papers that do not conform to these requirements will be rejected without review. Note that we are aware that it is not always possible to completely anonymize submissions for system demonstrations, but we ask that you anonymize to an extent that is do-able within reasonable parameters (i.e, we do not expect you to rent an anonymous server to run your demonstration on).

The deadline for submissions is April 8, 2013 (11:59pm Pacific Standard Time).  Submission will be electronic in PDF format through the START conference system at

System Demonstrations Co-Chairs

Miriam Butt, University of Konstanz
Sarmad Hussain, Al-Khawarizmi Institute of Computer Science

Program Committee

Timothy Baldwin, University of Melbourne
Thierry Declerck, DFKI
Koenrad de Smedt, University of Bergen
Mark Dras, Macquarie University
Martin Forst, Netbase
Tracy King, eBay
Adam Przepiorkowski,  Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences
Frédérique Segond, Viseo Reseach and Development
Heike Zinsmeister, IMS
Ruvan Weerasinghe, University of Colombo
Mirna Adriani, University of Indonesia
Sivaji Bandyopadhyay, Jadavpur University
Ying Chen, China Agriculture University
Christopher Culy, University of Tuebingen
Alexander Fraser, University of Stuttgart
Usman Ghani, University of Engineering and Technology
Annette Hautli, University of Konstanz
Gurpreet Lehal, Punjabi University
Shoushan Li, Soochow University
Katja Markert, University of Leeds
Thomas Mayer, University of Marburg
Christian Rohrdantz, University of Konstanz
Virach Sornlertlamvanich, NECTEC
Alexandros Tantos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki