Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

ACL 2013
The 51st Annual Meeting of the Association for Computational Linguistics
Sofia, Bulgaria, August 4-9

The Association for Computational Linguistics is pleased to announce that its 2013 Annual Meeting will take place in Sofia, Bulgaria, on August 4th to 9th.

The conference invites the submission of long and short papers on substantial, original, and unpublished research in all aspects of automated language processing, as discussed below. As already done last year, ACL 2013 will accept papers accompanied by the resource (software or data) described in the paper. In addition to the regular review of the research quality of the paper, these papers will also be reviewed for the quality of the resource that is being made available. Papers that are submitted with accompanying software/data will receive additional credit toward the overall evaluation score, and acceptance or rejection decision will be made based on the quality of both the research and the software/data component. In addition, this year there will be an important novelty: some of the presentations at the conference will be of papers accepted for the new Transactions of the ACL journal (http://www.transacl.org/).


Relevant topics for the conference include, but are not limited to, the following areas (in alphabetical order):
Cognitive modelling of language processing and psycholinguistics
Dialogue and interactive systems
Discourse, coreference and pragmatics
Evaluation methods
Information retrieval
Language resources
Lexical semantics and ontologies
Low resource language processing
Machine translation: methods, applications and evaluation
Multilinguality in NLP
NLP applications
NLP and creativity
NLP for the languages of Central and Eastern Europe and the Balkans
NLP for the Web and social media
Question answering
Sentiment analysis, opinion mining and text classification
Spoken language processing
Statistical and Machine Learning methods in NLP
Summarization and generation
Syntax and parsing
Tagging and chunking
Text mining and information extraction
Word segmentation

Since 2010, ACL has been aiming to broaden its scope to include papers that have not typically been part of the ACL conference program. ACL 2013 therefore invites papers in the following categories:
Theoretical computational linguistics
Empirical/data-driven approaches
Resources and evaluation

Long papers: ACL 2013 submissions must describe substantial, original, completed and unpublished work. Wherever appropriate, concrete evaluation and analysis should be included. Submissions will be judged on appropriateness, clarity, originality/innovativeness, correctness/soundness, meaningful comparison, thoroughness, significance, contributions to research resources, and replicability. Each submission will be reviewed by at least three program committee members. Long papers may consist of up to eight (8) pages of content, plus two extra pages for references; final versions should take into account reviewers' comments. Papers will be presented orally or as posters as determined by the program committee. Decisions on presentation format will be based on the nature rather than the quality of the work. There will be no distinction in the proceedings between long papers presented orally and as posters.

The long paper deadline is:
Wednesday February 20th, 2013, 24:00 PST

Short papers: ACL 2013 also solicits short papers. Short paper submissions must describe original and unpublished work. Characteristics of short papers include:

A small, focused contribution
Work in progress
A negative result
An opinion piece
An interesting application nugget

Short papers will be presented in one or more oral or poster sessions, and will be given four (4) pages plus 2 pages for references in the proceedings. While short papers will be distinguished from long papers in the proceedings, there will be no distinction in the proceedings between short papers presented orally and posters. Each short paper submission will be reviewed by at least two program committee members.

The deadline for short papers is
Sunday April 14th, 2013, 24:00 PST

Equivalent Times for Short Paper Submission Deadline*

MelbourneApril 15th, 17:00
TokyoApril 15th, 16:00
BeijingApril 15th, 15:00
KolkataApril 15th, 12:30
Moscow MSKApril 15th, 11:00
RiyadhApril 15th, 10:00
CairoApril 15th, 09:00
StockholmApril 15th, 09:00
LondonApril 15th, 08:00
New YorkApril 15th, 03:00
DallasApril 15th, 02:00
Los AngelesApril 14th, 24:00

*Source: http://www.timeanddate.com

Electronic Submission:
Submission is electronic, using the Softconf submission software at https://www.softconf.com/acl2013/shortpapers

Long paper submissions should follow the two-column format of ACL 2013 proceedings without exceeding eight (8) pages of content plus two extra pages for references. Short paper submissions should also follow the two-column format of ACL 2013 proceedings, and should not exceed four (4) pages plus at most 2 pages for references. We strongly recommend the use of ACL LaTeX style files or Microsoft Word style files tailored for this year's conference. Submissions must conform to the official style guidelines, which are contained in the style files, and they must be in PDF.
As the reviewing will be blind, papers must not include authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ..." must be avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith previously showed (Smith, 1991) ..." Papers that do not conform to these requirements will be rejected without review. In addition, please do not post your submissions on the web until after the review process is complete.

ACL 2013 Style Files:
Important: Remove authors information from your manuscripts when submitting them for blind review!

LatexMS Word

Multiple-submission policy:
Papers that have been or will be submitted to other meetings or publications must indicate this at submission time. Authors of papers accepted for presentation at ACL 2013 must notify the program chairs by
April 21st
as to whether the paper will be presented. All accepted papers must be presented at the conference to appear in the proceedings. We will not accept for publication or presentation papers that overlap significantly in content or results with papers that will be (or have been) published elsewhere.
Authors submitting more than one paper to ACL must ensure that submissions do not overlap significantly (> 50%) with each other in content or results.

Program Co-Chairs
Pascale Fung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Massimo Poesio, University of Essex

This page